21.11.2019

April’s PS4 Free Games For PS Plus Members Have Been Announced

We’re in the final days of March, which means two things for PlayStation Plus members: March’s free PS4 games will soon disappear, and another two free games will be available to download in April. Unfortunately, PS3 and Vita games are no longer part of the monthly package, and the latest free pair of games aren’t quite on the same level as March’s fantastic offerings. April’s PS Plus games are The Surge and Conan Exiles, and they’ll be available to download starting April 2.

The Surge is a science-fiction RPG heavily inspired by the Dark Souls series and takes place in a grim, dystopian future where the world has been ravaged by war and environmental diseases. Robots and clones make up a majority of the workforce, so the humans who are left must fight to survive while wearing exoskeleton implants intended to boost speed and strength. Critic Daniel Starkey gave the game a 7/10 in GameSpot’s The Surge review.

«Not everything hits, but The Surge works far more often than it doesn’t, and what it does change is mostly better executed here than in its forebears,» Starkey wrote. «Deck 13 has crafted a satisfying adventure that breathes new life into a flooded sub-genre.»

Then there’s Conan Exiles, an open-world survival adventure set in the universe of Conan the Barbarian. You play a customizable character who has been rescued by Conan and must now explore the harsh world known as The Exiled Lands. Resource gathering, item crafting, and shelter building all play a role in your quest for survival. However, the game received a 3/10 in GameSpot’s Conan Exiles review—critic James Swinbanks took issue with the game’s multiple bugs, confusing AI, and unexciting combat.

«Ultimately, Conan Exiles is one of the most unsatisfying games I’ve ever played,» he wrote. «Its crafting and resource systems may be dense enough that the ultra-patient could find something to enjoy here, but anyone else would likely walk away with their hands thrown up in defeat.»

That said, both of these games are totally free, so if they sound interesting to you, be sure to download and try them out while they’re available next month. In the meantime, you can still download March’s free PS Plus games until April 2 at 8 AM PST / 11 AM EST / 3 PM GMT (and 2 AM AET on April 3). The two freebies are Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered, the 2016 revamp of Activision’s critically acclaimed shooter, and The Witness, a gorgeous puzzle game set on a mysterious island. Both titles have been enhanced for the PS4 Pro.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *